On Monday I took a sick day. Not for Crohn's, but because I ate something that definitely wasn't quite right and gave me symptoms of food poisoning. Basically I was puking all late afternoon/evening on Sunday.
Here's the thing: it took me a few hours to decide if I should call in. Keep in mind I was curled up in the fetal position for 6 hours and kept on throwing up. I kept on telling myself "I can get through tomorrow, this isn't that big of a deal". But...I was still throwing up and I still couldn't eat anything solid until about 11 am the next day.
I was uncertain if I should call it because I felt like I "should" suck it up. After all I teach through Crohn's symptoms on a very regular basis, so shouldn't I be able to suck it up despite the nausea? That sounds insane, right? Because it is. I am so used to not having normal digestion that I had to talk myself into taking a sick day due to food poisoning. I felt guilty. So guilty. Which is stupid, because again...food poisoning! I was puking literally the minute before I went to bed, but I couldn't get over the "I could get through the day if I tried" feeling.
Over the past few days I am realizing that I really need to put that guilt to rest. If I need a sick day, I need a sick day. Even though I deal with digestion issues much more than your average person, that doesn't make my symptoms less legitimate. If nothing else I need to pay even closer attention to my health because of my issues with Crohn's. It is a work in progress, but I am hopeful that in the future I will have less guilt over taking time to prioritize my health.
No comments:
Post a Comment